S20 Proposition for buying full albums

Continuing a reflexion I just had in another topic regarding artists capacities to control some aspects of pricing, and fairness to Resonate listeners regarding the price of full length albums, I wanted to make a proposition.

As an Artist, I want to have the option for each full length / EP release to say “if someone spent x amount of cumulated money listening to my tracks they own the entire album/EP” this way I can control the price of my album in Stream 2 Own format independantly from track count.

Example :

My album has 12 tracks, I want it to be 10€ to own the full album.

If someone has listened to 10 tracks 9 times reaching a 10€ spending on this release that person now owns the 12 tracks of the album.

Prices can be fixed freely between 0 and evidently the maximum being 1€/song.

19 Likes

I’ve also been thinking about this.
My music is both on here and on Bandcamp.
I have a 6 track album available for £4 on there. It’s got a couple of tracks that are kind of fillers. They work in the context of the album but you might not want pay an extra £1 for them.
If I could offer it on Resonate for £3 stream to own or download, I do that happily.

I think there is same issue for people with 30 track albums of short 1min tracks etc.

4 Likes

I can see this taking the shape of a credit-spend progress bar on the album pages, could be pretty neat.

3 Likes

Yep, ditto, I’d been having similar thoughts, around a kind of artist selected pricing cap.

I especially like how this might look in the context of buying an album/ep/etc outright.

If the ‘buy now’ button was also on the album menu it could be a ‘bandcamp-like’ experience. Not that bandcamp-like is the ultimate aim but there is a parity, discussed elsewhere, in what the ‘own’ part of stream2own means - like can I download audio files?

The only other thing though. I’m not sure that between 0 and €1 per track works completely.