Privacy-Respecting Identity for Artists and Musicians

I’m new to Resonate, and hugely impressed by the platform and the potential to do something really special for musicians, curators and listeners. As an ethical music-streaming co-operative, we distance ourselves from the large-scale algorithmic data exploitation seen in the other commercial industry platforms and treat our members with respect for their data, in line with GDPR.

But we could do more. There’s a thing called ‘Self Sovereign Identity’ that could give our members better, decentralised control over their own identity data. There are now many emerging suppliers, and a global standard. But it’s all quite new, and unproven at scale.

A trial use for us could start with something simple, like issuing membership credentials / ‘certificates’, allowing members to log in without passwords. It might perhaps enable members to authenticate peer-to-peer with an app, using a trusted credential that we issue, to prove attendance at a gig, or to ‘sign’ tracks of their own or have co-created with others.

That’s a bit nerdy, perhaps, but maybe it gives a flavour of what could be possible? We might be able to get some funding from the EU’s projects in this area and address this as part of our plans. It’s a hot topic right now (among identity nerds at least). Anyway here’s a draft funding application, which has more about what we might do, if we think it’s right for us.

Comments/suggestions very welcome !

5 Likes

Nick,
A really interesting idea!
Is there any other platforms/sites that currently have a similar approach?
GDPR in Europe has had a huge impact in the work i do so i feel it’s just a matter of time until these discussions are had outside of the ‘enterprise’ environments.